Thursday 25 August 2016

#80 RADIOHEAD - Bonnaroo Festival 2006 (Flac)

Bonnaroo Music Festival,
Manchester, TN.
June 17, 2006

Radiohead’s North American tour in June 2006 comprised of nineteen shows, fifteen throughout six US states; Pennsylvania, Massachusetts, New York, Tennessee, Illinois and California. Four Canadian dates were shared between Toronto and Montreal. The tour was sandwiched between two European legs that had begun in May and would recommence in August. Bonnaroo situated on a 700-acre farm took place over three days in mid-June. The group headlined the What Stage on Saturday night, their only US festival appearance.

An epic headlining performance by Radiohead. The band debuted half of the songs that would appear on their next album ‘In Rainbows’ released in 2007. Since the inception of the Bonnaroo Music & Arts Festival in 2002, it has steadily grown in stature and is now amongst the upper echelon of festivals in the USA. Other bands on the 2006 bill included: Tom Petty & the Heartbreakers, Elvis Costello & the Imposters feat. Allen Toussaint, Beck, Buddy Guy, Damian 'Jr. Gong' Marley, Dr. John and Sonic Youth.

In an interview by the BBC’s Radio 6Music digital station, Thom Yorke described the show as “My favourite gig for years and years and years.” and for 'Rolling Stone' magazine  "When we played Bonnaroo we got such a nice vibe, a genuine good feeling from the first beat. Things like Bonnaroo give you hope... I met Phish, most of their people are involved in Bonnaroo. And it's great. I dream to take some of that vibe and take it around the country."

A show that is considered by many, to be Radiohead’s best live performance, this two and a half hour set was generally agreed upon as the highlight of Bonnaroo 2006.
The mixing of the recording was done by Paul Phipps, who said, via

“It's hard to believe this was over 5 years ago, but a friend of mine was running sound that night. He snagged the 2-track master from the board and handed the raw WAV over to me. I felt like I scored the mix of a lifetime. I've spent twenty years behind mixing consoles and mastering is one of my fortes, so I couldn't wait to pull the best out of this one.

After two months of wrangling, I finally came up with a mix that I loved. Everything is crystal clear. I have heard every "official" Radiohead live release and none of them sound this clear. After 5 years of keeping this to myself, I had a talk with my friend and he gave me to the OK to go ahead and release this to the public on the 5th anniversary of this awesome show.

I really tried to focus the attention on the individuals, breaking it apart so you can hear everyone. The show improves as it goes, with the first couple songs being a bit rough, they settle in and the last ten songs are completely spot on and wonderful.

The arrangement to Bodysnatchers is a bit different from the album version. You can tell they were still working on it. This is the best Radiohead live recording you will ever hear. Quality. Performance. It's all here.My personal favorite from this show is Videotape. I like this version over the album version so much more. So passionate. Just amazing.” 

Mastered by Paul Phipps. Paul also develops music apps for Android under the company name Semzo Multimedia.

01. There There 
02. 2+2=5 
03. 15 Step 
04. Weird Fishes/Arpeggi 
05. Exit Music (For A Film) 
06. Kid A 
07. Dollars & Cents 
08. Videotape 
09. No Surprises 
10. Paranoid Android 
11. The Gloaming 
12. The National Anthem 
13. Climbing Up The Walls 
14. Nude 
15. Street Spirit (Fade Out) 
16. The Bends 
17. Myxomatosis 
18. How To Disappear Completely

19. You And Whose Army? 
20. Pyramid Song 
21. Like Spinning Plates 
22. Fake Plastic Trees 
23. Bodysnatchers 
24. Lucky 
25. Idioteque 
26. Karma Police

Encore 2:
27. House Of Cards 
28. Everything In Its Right Place

Thom Yorke – lead vocals, guitar, keyboards, piano
Jonny Greenwood – guitar, keyboards, synthesizer
Ed O'Brien – guitar, percussion
Colin Greenwood – bass guitar, keyboards
Philip Selway – drums, percussion

The 2-track soundboard recording was given to Paul Phipps, who using twenty years of experience behind mixing consoles, spent two months mixing and mastering the raw recording to his satisfaction. It was originally circulated in mp3 format but this is the lossless version. 

Lineage: SBD > two track master WAV > Paul Phipps mastering > FLAC 
Sound Quality: 10+


Password for this is:


  1. any link? thank you!

  2. The password isn't working. Update?

    1. The link is live and working correctly as at 15 Jnauary 2024