Wednesday 25 February 2015


Godspeed You! Black Emperor - Monheim (1998)

Monheim is compiled from two separate performances, both recorded within a month of each other, at the end of 1998.

"Hung Over as the Queen in Maida Vale"
BBC Studios, London, UK
John Peel session
Recorded: 22 November 1998
Broadcast: 1 January 1999
Source: FM

01. Monheim > Improvisation (includes Chart #3 & Steve Reich) (18:17)

Consists of the movements "Monheim" (which later appeared on 2002's Lift Your Skinny Fists Like Antennas to Heaven), "Chart #3" (also on Lift Your Skinny Fists Like Antennas to Heaven), and "Steve Reich" (unfortunately unreleased).

As a suite not unlike how the band present their albums (specifically their first two full lengths), this set works very well. "Monheim" is a fantastic opening piece, building up from a bittersweet guitar strum into a churning mess of estranged harmony and intense release. A momentary pause allows us to catch our breath before "Chart #3" begins, a relatively simple piece which revolves around a sample of a man speaking very passionately about spiritual discovery. The simplistic and distant guitar chords immediately segue into the final section, "Steve Reich," and if you were looking for a payoff, you'll never find one sweeter than this. In fact, I would go so far as to say that the fact that this and the VPRO radio sessions as the only way of hearing this incredible piece of music is the most criminal case of withholding brilliance that I've ever encountered! This is simply breathtaking from start to finish. Mimicking the eponymous composer's early experiments in form, the three guitar players present compounding riffs one atop the other, all within a relatively closed harmonic space, and all of which are both beautiful and melancholic. These three riffs are the centre of the piece, as they wail and churn within it for its entire duration, the percussion and violin/cello adding emphasis and accentuation in simplistic and perfect ways. If this piece really has been transformed into an A Silver Mount Zion, it's too bad - in this original form, its incredible, and should definitely have been recorded by the band before its indefinite hiatus.

 Unfortunately, though, this is the best place to find it. While it is isolated from "Monheim" in the VPRO sessions, those recordings have quite a bit more hiss, and the performance is of a slightly lesser quality (a few inherent imperfections which bring it down a notch). This is recommended to all GY!BE fans, and if you're a patient listener, it would be a fantastic introduction to the band as well. (review by seasonsinthesky)

Sojus 7, Monheim, Germany
17 December 1998
Source: Soundboard

02. Intro (3:10)
03. The Dead Flag Blues (9:40)
04. Moya (14:28)
05. World Police And Friendly Fire (13:55)
06. She Dream’t She Was A Bulldozer, She Dream’t She Was Alone In An Empty Field > J.L.H. Outro (18:36)



Sunday 8 February 2015


Genre: rock, classic rock
Country: UK
Year of Publishing: 2001
Audio codec: MP3
Tracks audio bitrate: 256 kbps
Duration: 1:01:58

 01. Uncle Floyd
 02. Afraid
 03. Baby Loves That Way
 04. I Dig Everything
 05. Conversation Piece
 06. Let Me Sleep Beside You
 07. Toy (Your Turn To Drive)
 08. Hole In The Ground
 09. Shadow Man
 10. In The Heat Of The Morning
 11. You've Got a Habit Of Leaving
 12. Silly Boy Blue
 13. Liza Jane
 14. The London Boys

Album (compilation)
Toy - planned for release in 2001. David Bowie album, which included re-recorded old songs as well as material that later appeared on the album "Heathen" and the accompanying b-sides. The official release did not take place.

thebasement67 notes:

During 2000, David Bowie became enthused on a new project of re-recording some of his lesser-known songs, written in the early years of his career. These re-recordings plus three new songs were to appear on a new album titled ‘Toy’ in 2001.
The release failed to materialise because Virgin didn’t own the rights to the older songs. Bowie then formed his own record label ISO, after leaving Virgin at the end of 2001, but failed to release the album, quickly moving on to write and record ‘Heathen’.

The Toy songs: Uncle Floyd (re-recorded and re-titled Slip Away) and Afraid (remixed) appeared on ‘Heathen’ (2002).  Baby Loves That Way, Conversation Piece, Shadow Man (longer with strings), You've Got a Habit Of Leaving (remixed) appeared on the associated CD singles and ‘Heathen’ 2-cd edition.

These versions offered here from the leaked torrent source in 2011, are from an early and unfinished version only available at the moment in this lossy source.

The 2014 compilation ‘Nothing Has Changed’ includes finished versions of Let Me Sleep Beside You, Your Turn To Drive (Toy) and Shadow Man.