Thursday 29 March 2012

#06 The Specials - Paradiso, Amsterdam 1980 (Flac)

The Specials - Paradiso, Amsterdam, Netherlands
21 January 1980

Time: 50:45 
Lineage: FM Radio 2 NL, 9 Jan. 2009 (Denon TU-460) > PC > CD Wave (track splits) > Flac 6 (TLH).

Re-broadcast on Dutch radio station, Radio 2 almost nineteen years later, perhaps in celebration of the news that the band would be touring later in the year to celebrate their 30th anniversary. Sadly the old divisions would remain and Jerry Dammers their main songwriter would not take part with both sides claiming different stories as to the reason why.

Back in time, early in 1980 and riding on the crest of the massive success of the 2 tone revival we can hear the band on their European tour playing the debut album complete with just the exception of Little Bitch.  Add in singles like Gangsters and Rat Race and you have a perfect live document of the band.

As the reformed Specials are still going strong and playing live dates this year it's a good time to post this one. Stunning sound quality and performance

1.        (Dawning Of A) New Era
2.        Do The Dog
3.        It’s Up To You
4.        Monkey Man
5.        Rat Race
6.        Blank Expression
7.        Rude Boys Outta Jail
8.        Concrete Jungle
9.        It’s Too Hot
10.     Doesn’t Make It Alright
11.     Stupid Marriage
12.     Too Much Too Young
13.     A Message To You Rudy
14.     Nite Klub
15.     Gangsters
16.    You’re Wondering Now

the band

Terry Hall - vocals

Jerry Dammers - keyboards
Lynval Golding - rhythm guitar, vocals
Neville Staple - vocals, percussion
Roddy Byers - lead guitar
Horace Panter - bass guitar
John Bradbury - drums

Monday 12 March 2012

#05 THE BEAT - Paradiso, Amsterdam 1980 (Flac)

Paradiso, Amsterdam, Netherlands
10 May 1980

Lineage: FM Radio 2 NL, 3 April 2009 (Denon TU-460)
> PC > CD Wave (track splits) > Flac 6 (TLH).

One of the four main bands involved in the late 70’s to early 80’s 2 Tone UK ska revival, The Beat came from Birmingham and like Madness they only released one (debut) single on the 2 Tone label, It helped launch their careers with Go-Feet and Stiff records respectively.  The band were known as the English Beat in the USA.

This live concert from Amsterdam was recorded on the European tour to promote the Beat’s debut album ‘I Just Can’t Stop It’ released in May 1980.
It was re-broadcast nearly 29 years later on Dutch radio, the broadcast contains all the tracks featured on the debut album except Can’t Get Used To Losing You. Also played live were both sides of their debut 2 Tone single.

1.             Two Swords
2.             Tears Of A Clown
3.             Twist And Crawl
4.             Rough Rider
5.             Mirror In The Bathroom
6.             Best Friend
7.             Whine And Grine / Stand Down Margaret
8.             Noise In This World
9.             Big Shot
10.           Hands Off She's Mine
11.           Jackpot
12.           Click Click
13.           Ranking Full Stop

Dave Wakeling, guitar, vocals
Ranking Roger, vocals
Andy Cox, guitar 
David Steele, bass
Everett Morton, drums
Saxa, saxophone
Password is:  gofeet1

Password is:   gofeet2 

Thursday 8 March 2012

#04 ADRIAN BORLAND & THE SOUND - 2 meter sessies (sessions) (Flac)

2 meter sessies (sessions)

FM radio broadcasts
NOB Audiostudio, Bullet Sound Studios, Netherlands & Maida Vale, London

In 1987, the managing director of the Dutch radio station 3FM instructed DJ. Jan Douwe Kroeske to have more native language spoken on his programme, he then decided to have the international guests play a song on the show so beginning the 2 Meter Sessions (named after dj Jan’s height).  TV broadcasts of the show began in 1993.
This compilation of Adrian Borland & the Sound is from five sessions which were broadcast on Dutch radio between 1987 & 1995.
The Sound only feature on the first session, two tracks from 1987’s fifth and final album ‘Thunder Up’, the band decided to split in 1988 following Adrian’s worsening health problems.
The remaining sessions are from Adrian’s solo career also with Wouter Planteijdt and new band the Citizens.

1. Iron Years
2. Hand of Love
3. Beneath The Big Wheel
4. The Other Side Of The World
5. Silent Air
6. Rogue Beauty
7. Shadow Of Your Grace
8. Intro - Shoreline
9. Lonely Late Nighter
10. Simple Little Love
11. Rocket
12. Winning
13. When Can I Be Me
14. Someone Will Love You Today
15. Rogue Beauty
16. No Ethereal
17. Crystaline
18. The Big Wheel

tracks 1-2, session 1 - The Sound (December 1, 1987, NOB Audiostudio) both tracks can be found on the final Sound album ‘Thunder Up’

tracks 3-4, session 2 - Adrian Borland feat. Wouter Plantejdt (October 3, 1989, NOB Audiostudio) both tracks can be found on the 1989 debut solo album ‘Alexandria’

tracks 5-7, session 3 - Adrian Borland (January 9, 1990, NOB Audiostudio) opens with Silent Air from the classic 1981 Sound album’ The Lions Mouth’ and two more tracks from the current album‘Alexandria’

tracks 8-12, session 4 - Adrian Borland & Citizens (February 12, 1994, NOB Audiostudio) the first four tracks on this session are from the third solo album ‘Beautiful Expression’ closing with ‘Winning’ from 1981’s ‘The Lions Mouth’

tracks 13-14, session 5 - Adrian Borland (June 22, 1995, Bullet Sound Studios) this short two track session opens with a song from the new album ‘Cinematic’ and closes with one from’ Beautiful Expression’

bonus tracks 15-18:  Adrian Borland from Bob Harris Session, BBC Radio April 18, 1990 FM added to the fourteen Dutch Radio tracks is a bonus BBC Radio session, all four appear on the solo debut ‘Alexandria’
Password is:   soundone
Password is:    sound2
Password is:    sound3 

Compiled and shared at Easytree in December 2004 by Cor Diemers.
Adrian Borland Tribute page:
The Sound reissues in CD format at: