Friday 16 November 2018

#120 JEFF BUCKLEY - Knitting Factory, New York 1997 (Flac)

Knitting Factory, New York, NY.
Tuesday 4 February, 1997

The most recent official Jeff Buckley release "You And I" appeared in early 2016. It comprised of session recordings discovered by Sony as they sought to compile material for a 20th anniversary re-release of Grace in 2014. They were recorded at Steve Addabbo's West 21st Street, New York studio, over two solo eight-hour sessions in early February 1993. Further recordings with back up musicians followed at the Knitting Factory in May, and these were stored together with the test session tape in Columbia's archives.

I had considered the 'Grace' sessions for this post but I could see difficulties with take down notices emerging if I had posted it and I don't wish to upload butchered bootlegs. (ie. those stripped of 1, 2 or 3 official tracks etc.) 

Therefore I have gone for this live performance, we move on to Tuesday 4 February 1997. It would be Jeff's last solo performance in New York, part of the 10th Anniversary celebrations at the Knitting Factory, the downtown club where he had performed early in his career. Struggling with sound problems affecting his guitar and telling the audience that his voice was "shot" he nevertheless turned in a fascinating and important performance over a short seven-song set. There is a sparse raw feeling to the music, playing mostly new tracks; Jeff was also accompanied by his former band mate Gary Lucas on a live version of 'Grace'.

A week later Jeff and his band would fly to Memphis to continue the ill-fated Easley sessions with Tom Verlaine. These newer songs would appear in a more finished version on the official release '(Sketches For) My Sweetheart The Drunk'. This bootleg has five songs that would appear in a more complete style on that posthumous release. The sparse sound here focuses the spotlight on Jeff's incredible voice. 

Whenever I play Everybody Here Wants You to friends or relatives, who are not familiar with Jeff's music, the reaction is always the same "What a great voice" or "What a great song"

Jeff drowned while swimming in the Mississippi river on 29 May, 1997. His second album provisionally titled 'My Sweetheart The Drunk' was unfinished. 

Listen to this and acquire '(Sketches For) My Sweetheart The Drunk' for a more complete view of his post 'Grace' work.

01. Lover You Should've Come Over (8:07)
02. Jewel Box (5:41)
03. Morning Theft (4:29)
04. Grace (feat. Gary Lucas)* (6:43)
05. The Sky is A Landfill (7:11)
06. Everybody Here Wants You (5:27)
07. Yard Of Blonde Girls (4:57)

Total running time: 42:35

Soundboard recording
Lineage: Flac > CDr > EAC (sec. mode) > Wav > Flac
Uploaded to Dime in 2005


Monday 12 November 2018

#119 THE CRAMPS - Club 57, New York (1979) (Flac)

Club 57, Irving Plaza,
New York, NY.
August 18, 1979

“I Don’t Care If You Want Me, I’m Yours Right Now”

Deciding on which Cramps bootleg to include on the blog was a close call between the ‘Ohio demos’ and this. With the alternate 100 bootlegs format I am now able to include this live performance from Club 57 in August 1979.

Club 57 opened in 1979 and closed four years later. It was an anti-disco, anti-glitz, dingy diamond of the early new wave era, and was managed by budding performance artist Ann Magnuson. Hired by the owner of Irving Plaza whose smaller club at St. Mark's needed alternative' entertainment to attract the neighbourhood’s local youth. She used her creativity and turned the basement into her own "low rent answer to Andy Warhol's Factory."

One of Club 57's more successful nights was the Monster Movie Club, every Tuesday, showing "the worst monster movie they could find," according to Drew Straub. The soundtrack for these absurdist, weekly carnival shows were stars of the outer reaches of punk, new wave and rap. The club featured performances by St. Marks resident Klaus Nomi, Fab Five Freddy and John Sex. and also more established names such as the Buzzcocks and the Cramps. (thanks to the Bowery Boys New York History blog for information about Club 57)

The latest unofficial bootleg release by Moonlight Records in 2011 has several issues with the mastering and sound quality. The main body of that silver disc is taken from the FM broadcast of Club 57, Irving Plaza, New York on August 18, 1979. It also includes 9 demo bonus tracks, these have been subjected to crackle and hiss removal, resulting in quite muffled sounding audio. The demo tracks can all be found on the bootleg vinyl release ‘Tales From The Cramps’ and while there may be some hiss and crackle on that boot, the sound quality is superior and more natural than the processed tracks on the Moonlight release.

The tracks presented here are all from a master tape of the WPIX FM broadcast. It has superior sound quality with much crisper audio, the raw edges have not been blunted by any additional and unnecessary remastering. 

In the summer of 1979, the Cramps had just completed their first European tour and returned to New York. They officially signed to IRS and commenced work on their debut album produced by Alex Chilton. After the album recording sessions had finished they went out on a major US tour, some dates as support to the Buzzcocks.

The debut album “Songs The Lord Taught Us” would not be released until March 1980, mainly because of mixing problems and difficulties caused by the producer’s perfectionism. This FM broadcast is an excellent representation of the raw and savage sound of the early Cramps live and should be played at much louder volume than studio recordings to gain the full sonic effect.



Lux - vocals
Ivy - guitars
Bryan Gregory - guitars
Nick Knox - drums

01. UFO
02. Domino
03. Twist & Shout
04. Weekend On Mars
05. Voodoo Idol
06. Zombie Dance
07. Rockin’ Bones
08. Human Fly
09. Garbageman
10. Teenage Werewolf
11. Sunglasses After Dark
12. TV Set
13. - crowd -
14. The Way I Walk