Wednesday 11 July 2012

#16 PORTISHEAD - Live at Tower Ballroom, Blackpool 1995 (Flac)

Next up is another 90's band and again a BBC FM radio production, not pre-fm but a superb performance with sound quality to match.
Portishead released their debut album Dummy in 1994 it's now regarded as a classic and this live set not only features some of the best tracks from that album but includes two songs that would appear two year's later on their second self titled release. Also featured is a live performance of the UK b-side 'It's A Fire which appeared on North American and Australian versions of the debut release.

Tower Ballroom, Blackpool, UK
May 25th, 1995

01. radio intro
02. Numb
03. Wandering Star
04. Mourning Air
05. Strangers
06. Over
07. It's A Fire
08. Glory Box
09. Pedestal
10. Sour Times
11. radio outro

BBC FM Radio broadcast

Thursday 5 July 2012

#15 SMASHING PUMPKINS - bbc in concert #581 (Manchester 1993) (Flac)

Pre-FM BBC transcription disc
September 15, 1993
Manchester Academy, Manchester, UK. 
running time - 51: 16

The Smashing Pumpkins second album Siamese Dream was released in July 1993 and this blistering performance was recorded by the BBC on their third full European tour, the transcription disc concentrates on performances from the new album with only one track 'I Am One' appearing from the debut release Gish

Numerous superb quality Pumpkins recordings are available but this is the best one from '93 now that the Metro performance has been released on DVD 

1.             DJ intro (0:45)
2.             Quiet (3:34)
3.             Today (3:20)
4.             Disarm (3:13)
5.             Rocket (4:12)
6.             Hummer (6:57)
7.             Soma (7:10)
8.             Geek USA (5:01)
9.             Mayonaise (6:45)
10.           Cherub Rock (5:17)
11.           I Am One (5:47)

Billy Corgan: vocals, guitar
James Iha: guitar, vocals 
D'arcy Wretzky: bass guitar, vocals
Jimmy Chamberlin: drums, percussion

LINEAGE: 930915 - Manchester Academy; Manchester, UK
BBC Transcription disc TCD 0661 "In Concert 581"