Sunday 14 August 2016

#69 STEELY DAN - Rainbow Theatre, London 1974 (Flac)

Rainbow Theatre
Finsbury Park,
London, England
20th May 1974

Steely Dan’s final headline tour occurred in 1974. Fortunately for their London fans they performed a two-night stand at the Rainbow Theatre.  The opening night is available in exquisite quality on this high fidelity recording. 

The material is drawn principally from 1973’s ‘Countdown To Ecstasy’ and the new album Pretzel Logic. The hit singles Rikki Don’t Lose That Number and Reelin’ In The Years included here in expanded form would become two of their most enduring and instantly recognisable songs. 

This show is regarded as one of their greatest ever-live performances. Following further dates in the USA, Steely Dan would quit live performance to concentrate on their studio work, splitting in the early 80’s before the release of ‘Gaucho’. It would be 1993 before they reformed and returned to the stage with only Becker and Fagen remaining from the previous band.


Disc 1
01. intro > Bodhisattva
02. The Boston Rag
03. Do It Again
04. Brooklyn (Owes The Charmer Under Me)
05. King Of The World
06. Rikki Don't Lose That Number
07. Pretzel Logic
08. band introductions

Disc 2
01. My Old // School
(tape flip at 1:07 crossfaded)
02. Dirty Work
03. Instrumental (Your Gold Teeth II) >
04. Reelin' In The Years
05. crowd and tuning
06   Show Biz Kids
07   crowd and tuning
08   This All Too Mobile Home

Lineage: sbd > msc (?) > wav > flac       
There is a seamless join between the discs.

The band:
Donald Fagen - piano, vocals
Walter Becker - bass
Jeff Baxter - guitar
Denny Dias - guitar
Jim Hodder - drums
Jeff Porcaro - drums
Royce Jones - percussion, vocals
Michael McDonald - electric piano, vocals


  1. I saw them at the Rainbow! Kiki Dee supported. Brilliant.

  2. Not seeing this either, and Dan is my favorite band

    1. see Download column on R/H side

  3. Thanks for keeping my artwork together with this great show