Friday 29 May 2015

#35 STEVE EARLE - BKA-Luftschloß, Berlin - March 12th, 2003 (Flac)

From August 1st until 22nd 2003, every night from 11.00 PM – 1.00 AM (German summer time) Berlin radio station RadioEins broadcast another round of their superb "summer night concerts", recorded earlier in the year. Artists included Massive Attack, Lucinda Williams and Steve Earle & The Dukes; this rocking FM broadcast is from the BKA-Luftschloß in Berlin.

In a busy year for Steve he performed on the east coast of the US throughout January and into February finishing in Atlanta, Georgia. He then flew with the Dukes to Europe for a 13-date tour in March and April, taking in Germany, Norway, England, Scotland, Belgium and the Netherlands, before returning to the US for further live dates in Montana, Oklahoma, Texas and California. A visit to Canada followed with promo appearances on Canadian TV for a live date in Ontario. June 30th marked an appearance at the 10th Annual Fast and Vigil to Abolish the Death Penalty in Washington DC.
He also found time to appear in some guest slots, notably for Pearl Jam during their ‘Riot Act’ tour, before returning to Europe in August for some solo Festival dates. Not finished for the year, he went home for more appearances in the US and then Canada during October and November.

Steve Earle & the Dukes
Luftschloß, Berlin, Germany
March 12, 2003

01 Amerika v. 6.0 (The Best We Can Do)
02 What's A Simple Man To Do?
03 Ashes To Ashes
04 Conspiracy Theory
05 My Old Friend The Blues
06 Someday
07 Taneytown
08 The Rain Came Down
09 Harlan Man
10 Mystery Train Part II
11 Copperhead Road
12 Guitar Town
13 Billy Austin
14 The Truth
15 Some Dreams
16 Hurtin' Me Hurtin' You

17 Go Amanda
18 John Walker's Blues
19 Jerusalem
20 Transcendental Blues
21 N.Y.C.
22 The Unrepentant
23 Hard-Core Troubadour
24 Devils Right Hand
25 Christmas In Washington
26 Time Has Come Today
27 Get Together
28 (What's So Funny 'Bout) Peace, Love And Understanding

FM Broadcast

Monday 25 May 2015

#34 RORY GALLAGHER - In Concert 1971-72 (Flac)

Rory Gallagher was a phenomenal guitarist and songwriter and this ‘In Concert 71-72’ is the best sounding early live bootleg. It was compiled from two live BBC performances, that were broadcast as promotion for Rory’s first two solo releases. ‘Rory Gallagher’ released on 23 May 1971 and ‘Deuce’ released on 28 November 1971. An official live album was also released on 14 May 1972, ‘Live In Europe’ it was the first of two essential live official releases.
The BBC were great supporters of Rory’s music and numerous sessions and live performances exist, with only a fraction of them officially released.


Rory Gallagher: Two BBC In Concerts

torrent size: 13 tracks; 76:19 minutes; 507MB Flac files and 1.17MB art
BBC; London, England .... ex-/ex/sb
Source: BBC > CDR(1) > (wav) EAC (secure mode) > mkwACT(shn) (> YOU)
Artwork included, HANX :-)
more information:

12 August 1971 (Tx. 22 August 1971)
BBC 'John Peel Sunday Concert'
Paris Theatre, London, England, UK
6 tracks; 39:14 minutes .... ex-/ex/sb > CDR

01. Hands Up
02. For The Last Time
03. In Your Town
04. Just The Smile
05. Laundromat
06. It Takes Time

13 January 1972 (Tx. 22 January 1972)
BBC 'In Concert'
Paris Theatre, London, England, UK
7 tracks; 37:05 minutes .... ex-/ex/sb>CDR

07. (Introduction) not by John Peel
08. Used To Be
09. I Should've Learned My Lesson
10. Out Of My Mind
11. Could've Had Religion
12. Crest Of A Wave
13. Messin' With The Kid

Rory Gallagher: Vocals, Guitar, Harmonica
Gerry McAvoy: Bass
Wilgar Campbell: Drums


(source: traded shn files from Jeff, thanksabillion)

Sunday 3 May 2015

#33 THE WAILERS - Paris Theatre, London 1973 (Flac)

Bob Marley & The Wailers
May 24, 1973
Paris Theatre              
London, England

The Wailers gave an extraordinary live concert at the BBC’s Paris Theatre, which was broadcast as part of the ‘Top Gear’ pop music series. Performing on the British radio network for the second time, the Wailers were on their best behaviour, and the performance emerged as a perfect jewel, almost “chamber reggae” in the band’s precision and attention to detail. After a well-meaning but fumbling compere, Pete Drummond, introduced the group to raucous whistles and applause from the Wailers’ loyal West Indian clique, Bob said thank you and the group clicked into the show-opener, “Rastaman Chant.” The band was nervous and Bunny’s opening drumbeat was tentative, but then the Barrett brothers synched in and the angelic Wailers harmony rang out:

Said I here the words of the Rasta man seh/Babylon your throne gone down, gone down/Babylon your throne gone down.

 After three minutes and fifteen seconds of harmony, the Wailers were cut off and the compere began his between-song patter. “That was a chant, which is sort of a roots song for the Wailers, to do with a cult which is Rasta Faria (sic) which a lot of West Indians are turning to, which was extremely popular in the 1920s. Rasta meaning ‘head,’ Faria meaning ‘creator.’ This next number is on their current album, Catch A Fire, composed by Bob Marley. It’s called ‘Slave Driver.’ ” Carly Barrett tapped out the opening beats, and a subdued version followed, driven by Tosh’s cruelly chopping guitar and Wire’s vivid, passionate organ breaks. When the number was through, the compere gently urged the crowd to dance, and the party was under way. A great rendition of “Stop That Train” was next, with Tosh delivering his strongest singing of the tour over the breathless harmonies of Bunny and Bob. The Wailers’ vaunted harmonies were again on display in the a cappella choral intro to  “No More Trouble,” which segued into a hard-rocking groove as soon as the rhythm section kicked in. Tosh followed this with an improvised lyric on “400 Years”: Won’t you come with me/You’re black and you’re proud/So you got to be free,” as the band supplied impeccable dub on the song’s coda. “Look how long…400 years!” Now the intensity of the set was starting to really build. “Midnight Ravers” was a bass/dub showpiece, six minutes of apocalyptic imagery, the “music of stampede” invading the staid precincts of the BBC. 

“Stir It Up” seemed even more of a simmering sex litany when coloured with, Tosh’s obscene wah-wah guitar solo on top of the instrumental passage. “Concrete Jungle” followed fast, Carly rushing the beat a little after a sharp snare intro. Wya made a mistake halfway through the song, starting his solo halfway through the second chorus. Bob shot Wya an evil look and killed the song early, going right into the Wailers’ new clarion call from their forthcoming album, “Get Up Stand Up.” The version was pure 1973 Wailers, brimming with tension, never giving up the fight. The compere announced the last number, and the audience protested vehemently. “Kinky Reggae,” the story of looking for herb in Piccadilly Circus, finished an entrancing set. Backstage after the show, Bob Marley got hot with Wya, who had blown a passage in “Concrete Jungle.” Always the perfectionist, Bob Marley didn’t like mistakes.  

(This review is an extract from the book, Bob Marley - Conquering Lion by Stephen Davis, 1983)
Original notes

BBC "In Concert"
Bootleg: "First Trip" [TDK!] (TDCY-6005)
Source: SBD
Lineage: Silver > xACT > FLAC

01. Rasta Man Chant
02. Slave Driver
03. Stop That Train
04. No More Trouble
05. 400 Years
06. Midnight Ravers
07. Stir It Up
08. Concrete Jungle
09. Get Up, Stand Up
10. Kinky Reggae

I think this is a different source because this version has no announcements at all.
The quality is superb. This sounds like a PreFM recording.