Sunday 9 October 2016

#95 SONIC YOUTH - Walls Have Ears (Flac)

Sonic Youth - Live:
University of London - 30 October 1985
Brighton Beach - 8 November 1985
Hammersmith Palais, London - 28 April 1985

Prepared for release by the band, as a double LP, but hastily withdrawn soon after. Sonic Youth’s most superlative "bootleg" is a perfect example of their breakthrough and live sound in 1985. It was compiled from tracks recorded at three venues. The first seven tracks at U.L.U (the University of London Union), on Wednesday 30th October, followed by one track of lesser sound quality at Brighton Beach on Friday 8th November and finishing with selections earlier in the year, from the Hammersmith Palais on Sunday 28th April. The track listings have been corrected, the notes also mention two further tracks Brother Jam-Z and Killed + Kicked Off, both of these are absent from this CD version. Fully deserving of its status, every Sonic Youth fan should have this one in their collection.

01. Anouncement (2:03)
02. Green Light (4:14)
03. Brother James (3:42)
04. Kill Your Idols (4:05)
05. I Love Her All The Time (5:06)
06. Expressway To Your Skull (8:50)
07. Spahn Ranch Dance (Death Valley ’69) (7:15)
08. Blood On Brighton Beach (3:40)
09. Burning Spear (4:19)
10. Death Valley '69 (6:58)
11. Speed Jamc (1:29)
12. Ghost Bitch (4:54) >
13. I’m Insane (5:40)
14. The World Looks Red (4:51)
15. Flower (aka The Word (E.V.O.L.)) (2:52)

Silver CD rip
Running Time: 70:06

 Note that the artwork has some incorrect song titles.