Wednesday, 22 April 2015

#32 ERIC CLAPTON - The "Blues Concert" 1994 (Flac)

Eric Clapton - "The Blues Concert"
The Fillmore, San Francisco, California
November 8 and 9, 1994

KTS - 457-58 - Soundboard 6 

(Sound Quality scale 1 (lowest) 6 (best))

The North American, “Nothin’ But The Blues” Tour opened on 3 October, 1994 at the Forum in Montreal, Canada and ended on 28 November, 1994 at Irving Plaza in New York. Eric and his band performed a three-night stand at the Fillmore, San Francisco on 7 to 9 November. All three dates were recorded, the first can be found on the bootleg ‘Blues at the Fillmore’. The famous Italian bootleg label KTS (Kiss The Stone) used the recordings from the last two dates to release this protection gap bootleg ‘The Blues Concert’

Disc 1:
1) Blues Leave Me Alone
2) Standing Around Crying
3) .44
4) It Hurts Me Too
5) Five Long Years
6) Crossroads
7) Malted Milk
8) Motherless Child
9) How Long Blues
10) Reconsider Baby
11) Sinner's Prayer
12) Everyday I Have the Blues

Disc 2:
1) Someday After a While
2) Crosscut Saw
3) Have You Ever Loved a Woman
4) Tore Down
5) Groaning the Blues
6) Ain't Nobody's Bizness if I Do
7) Early In the Morning
8) Driftin'
9) Hoochie Coochie Man
10) Born Under a Bad Sign
(tracks 9 & 10 are bonus tracks - recorded in New York, 28 September, 1994)

The Band:

Eric Clapton                       Guitar, Vocals
Andy Fairweather Low    Rhythm Guitar
Jerry Portnoy                    Harmonica
Chris Stainton                    Keyboards
Dave Bronze                       Bass
Andy Newmark                 Drums
Roddy Lorimer                  Trumpet
Tim Sanders                       Tenor Sax
Simon Clarke                      Baritone Sax

Geetarz Comments:
Culled from the same two dates as the performances used for the unreleased "Nothing But the Blues", this is instead sourced from the MediaAmerica radio show. Excellent sound quality, and features a stunning version of "Driftin'".

Lineage: Silvers > CD-R (trade) > EAC v. 0.99 Prebeta 5 (Secure, Offset Correct) > FLAC

Artwork, checksums, info file, and EAC logs included. Enjoy!  ~Geetarz, September 2010

Thursday, 2 April 2015

#31 TRAFFIC - Fillmore East 1970 (Flac)

November 18, 1970
Fillmore East, New York City, NY

Soundboard master reel
running time 64: 04

Traffic, reformed in 1970, after Steve Winwood had initially begun recording his debut solo album. It became their third studio album, 'John Barleycorn Must Die' and was released in July.  Five of the six original album tracks are performed live here, with "Stranger To Himself" the only omission. The bulk of the remainder, appeared on the second self-titled album and the inclusion of Blind Faith member Ric Grech, gives these live tracks a more improvisational feel than their studio counterparts.

“The curious tale of the in-concert album that never was follows: Shows were taped at the Fillmore East, the release was scheduled; it even got an Island catalogue number – ILPS 9142, the perfunctory title of Live – November 1970 and is reckoned to have had finished sleeves and been just days from being pressed up and hitting the shops – but never materialised. Bootlegs exist, and some finalised tracks were released officially (including Bill Graham’s introduction; the performances are excellent) as bonus cuts on the expanded CD release of John Barleycorn Must Die. The performances are excellent, and as one theory of a lost tape is rather far-fetched if the sleeves were indeed printed, it is likely that events of the following year caused this project to be abandoned: these range from the band having second thoughts, to disputes between Chris Blackwell and UA records in the States over their handling of Winwood’s back catalogue.”  (info from

The ‘winwoodfans’ site conjectures that the album was perhaps unreleased, due to the record company United Artists releasing 'Winwood', a best of release, that had not been sanctioned by the artist. After a court order, that album was withdrawn. By this time, original member Dave Mason had rejoined the band along with two new members, and it was felt that the November 1970 recording, was now nothing to do with the current band. The writer of the piece Dan Ropek reflects on 'Live - November '70' "that it remains, perhaps forever, lost."

What does remain though, are these tracks, recorded over the same two dates at the Fillmore, they appear on this bootleg in excellent quality.

(See the comments by Luke, below this post for further information)

1. Introduction by Bill Graham
2. Medicated Goo
3. Pearly Queen
4. Empty Pages
5. Heaven Is In Your Mind
6. Forty Thousand Headmen
7. John Barleycorn Must Die
8. Who Knows What Tomorrow May Bring
9. Every Mother's Son
10. Glad > Freedom Rider*
11. Means To An End
12. Dear Mr. Fantasy

Steve Winwood - vocals, guitar, organ
Jim Capaldi – drums, percussion, vocals
Chris Wood - piano, organ. sax, flute, vocals
Ric Grech - bass guitar

SBD > Master Reel > CD > EAC > WAV > FLAC (level 8, align on sector boundaries)
* - Some glitches from master reel were present, on track 10 these have been edited and smoothed

If you enjoy this bootleg I would suggest investigating the first four studio albums:

Mr. Fantasy - 1967
Traffic - 1968
John Barleycorn Must Die - 1970
The Low Spark of High Heeled Boys - 1971