Monday 24 August 2015

#45 BRUCE SPRINGSTEEN - Main Point, Bryn Mawr 1975 (Flac)

Bruce Springsteen & the E. Street Band
The Main Point,
Bryn Mawr, PA.
Wednesday 5th February 1975

There are many classic live performances by Bruce and the E Street Band circulating, this is one of the greatest, recorded over five months before the beginning of the ‘Born To Run’ tour. The liner notes by Crystal Cat succinctly describe a writer’s reaction to it as “Fuckin’ great!”

The show was held as a benefit for the 270-seat coffeehouse, Main Point. It was presented by DJ Ed Sciaky and broadcast complete with a two hour time delay by WMMR-FM on the night of February 5th, 1975

The 18-song set list is comprised of the complete ‘The Wild, The Innocent’ album live, bar Wild Billy’s Circus, four tracks apiece from the debut ‘Greetings’ and the forthcoming ‘Born To Run’ album. A Love So Fine is an unreleased Springsteen song and the other three tracks are covers; Dylan’s I Want You is superb with exquisite violin by Suki Lahav, Mountain Love was a hit single in 1960 by Harold Dorman and the set closer is Chuck Berry’s Back in the USA.

Many boots appeared originally incomplete but in 1990 the Italian bootleg label Great Dane released ‘The Saint, The Incident & The Main Point Shuffle’ on CD. This was quickly superseded by a pre-FM upgrade of the first ninety-minutes and issued with the same title but for the addition of ‘Masters Plus'. Since then there have been numerous releases.

The first part of this post, the pre-FM source is taken from the Crystal Cat release Main Point Night (CC 729-30). For some considerable time, the last hour of the show, part way through Kitty’s Back onwards, was only available from an FM broadcast in vastly inferior quality. In the summer of 2011 an upgrade emerged via a recording of the concert on reel at 3-3/4 IPS by a Philadelphian fan. The quality while not matching the pre-FM is still a significant upgrade and it was released online by the highly regarded JEMS team, responsible for some of the finest unreleased Springsteen recordings in circulation.

Queuing at the Main Point

Disc 1
01. Intro  
02. Incident On 57th Street  
03. Mountain Of Love  
04. Born To Run  
05. The E Street Shuffle  
06. Wings For Wheels  
07. I Want You  
08. Spirit In The Night  
09. She's The One  
10. Growin' Up  
11. It´s Hard To Be A Saint In The City  
12. Jungleland  

Disc 2
01. Kitty's Back*  
02. New York City Serenade  
03. Rosalita  
04. 4th Of July, Asbury Park  
05. A Love So Fine  
06. For You  
07. Back In The U.S.A.

Disc One Main Point Night (CC 729-30) Crystal Cat bootleg silver
Disc Two FM recording to reel at 3-3/4 IPS (via JEMS)
* see notes above


  1. Be prepared for more fire on the fingertips! deep down in the basement vaults.

  2. Magnificent, keep them coming please! Much appreciated. Long live bootlegs!

  3. Top five Springsteen boot for me. Many thanks for sharing. Incredible he hasn't officially released it yet.

    1. I'm sure it will be released eventually but I hope The Bottom Line and The Roxy come out first