Sunday 13 September 2015

#46 THE JIMI HENDRIX EXPERIENCE - Royal Albert Hall, London (Flac)

Jimi Hendrix - An Evening with the Jimi Hendrix Experience
Live at the Royal Albert Hall
24 February 1969

 This recording of the Jimi Hendrix Experience performing in London for the last time, at the Albert Hall on February 24, 1969 was the subject of a legal battle in 2006, lasting through to 2008, when it was finally resolved. The English newspaper ‘The Times’ issued part of the performance on a cover mounted CD with its paper on 10 September 2006. They claimed licensing rights and permission from Charly Records, who had previously issued the show (against claims by Experience Hendrix, disputing their right to do so). Experience Hendrix LLC, the Seattle based company which owns and administers the Jimi Hendrix legacy recordings, obtained summary judgement against the ‘Times’ newspaper

The Albert Hall concert was actually filmed and recorded on behalf of a joint venture between Jimi Hendrix, his manager Michael Jeffery, and filmmakers Steve Gold and Jerry Goldstein. Experience Hendrix is the successor to the Hendrix and Jeffery interests and The Last Experience Inc. is the successor to the Gold and Goldstein interests.

Bernard Solomon, who served as the accountant for Gold & Goldstein and their companies, obtained a copy of the Albert Hall audio recording in the 1970’s. He then began to license the audio material through various companies he owned or controlled, all without license or approval from Hendrix, Gold or Goldstein. These unauthorized Albert Hall concert releases have continued over the past decades, most recently through Charly Records and its licensees. The most prominent of these bootlegs during the past few years have been the “His Greatest Hits” (Volumes 1 and 2) CDs released on the Legacy International label. Experience Hendrix has caused many major record distributors to remove these recordings from their bins and websites, but these releases continue to reappear at various retail venues.

As a consequence of its cover mount release and the resulting lawsuit by Experience Hendrix, the London Times attempted to validate the Charly Records claim, but the UK court rejected it. In its judgment dated February 19, the London court granted summary judgment in favour of Experience Hendrix and The Last Experience Inc., and awarded Experience Hendrix recoupment of its legal costs while rejecting the legal arguments and related factual contentions advanced by the London Times.
Janie Hendrix, CEO of Experience Hendrix, commented on the verdict, “Our primary focus has long been to safeguard the legacy of Jimi Hendrix; this verdict validates our efforts and we shall continue our vigilance in challenging any and all bogus claims to his work.” Jerry Goldstein of The Last Experience noted, “We, too, are pleased with the court’s decision and looking forward to working with Experience Hendrix in offering the definitive presentation of this legendary performance in the future.”

So what of the recording, it’s the excellent, unofficial and now deleted version by Purple Haze Records "An Evening With The Jimi Hendrix Experience" that takes the #4 place in our countdown. The tone from Jimi’s guitar is superb as is the sound quality. The band were fragmenting and some have complained that it’s not a band performance but Hendrix with backing musicians.
No matter, it remains one of my favourite Hendrix performances. It also features three superb rehearsal outtakes, at the beginning of disc one. Followed by the complete live show by the Experience at the Royal Albert Hall. With never ending contractual disputes delaying its official release, it was reportedly due for release in 2008. Seven years later we still wait and wait. Download this and savour King Jimi live in London, the city where his career first took off in late 1966.



 Disc 1:
1. Hear My Train A Comin' (Afternoon Sound Check)
2. Room Full Of Mirrors (Afternoon Sound Check)
3. Bleeding Heart (Afternoon Sound Check)
4. Concert Intro
5. Lover Man
6. Stone Free
7. Hear My Train A Comin'
8. I Don't Live Today
9. Red House
10.Foxy Lady

Disc 2:
1. Sunshine Of Your Love
2. Bleeding Heart
3. Fire
4. Little Wing
5. Voodoo Chile (Slight Return)
6. Room Full of Mirrors
7. Purple Haze
8. Wild Thing
9. Star Spangled Banner

Purple Haze Records - HAZE007
Source: Silver Cds > EAC > FLAC > YOU
Uploaded to Traders Den on 1st July 2008

Original notes:
This set had been previously posted without two tracks from Disc 2: 4. Little Wing and 5. Voodoo Chile (Slight Return). Different mixes of these tracks were released on the Jimi Hendrix Experience Boxset. The first disc of this torrent, is exactly the same as the first torrent I uploaded (Brad Haupt)


  1. I think I hear my boot a-comin'.

    Thanks as always.

  2. Thanks so much for putting this up . Absolutely sensational . The three track ' warm up ' , wow !

  3. Sounds like Jimi Hendrix at his very best in the highest quality live recording! Definitely top five material!


    click on more images

  5. Thank you, this makes my day

  6. Thanks for putting this show on your excellent site

  7. Thanks, but where's the download link?