Wednesday 15 April 2020

#20 CAT POWER - The Complete Peel Sessions (Flac)


Standing in a queue waiting to pay for the latest selection of cds I’d chosen. I overheard the girl in front asking what was playing over the shop speakers. When told it was Cat Power’s new album she replied, “I’ll take it too.”

Cat Power at that time was just a name to me despite the 'Covers Record' being her fifth release. Some months later I heard her music for the first time on the John Peel show - the famous long running late night show on BBC Radio One.

The session included a selection of songs that had been recorded but not included on the Covers Record. That covers session included here features just Chan’s vocal and acoustic guitar or keyboards. I remember the DJ John Peel, being particularly taken by “Freebird,” a minimalist cover lasting barely fifty seconds and so completely different from its original incarnation, that it sounds quite bizarre in comparison.

The covers session was recorded on June 18, 2000 at Maida Vale’s studio 4 in London. It was broadcast in two parts, part one on July 20, 2000 including tracks 1 to 4 and track 9. The second part was broadcast on August 31, 2000 and included tracks 5 to 8 with a repeat of “Freebird.” Both parts of the session were broadcast later in the year, a few weeks before Christmas.

The second session was broadcast live and recorded at John’s home “Peel Acres” on August 23, 2001

The third and final session was recorded on January 23, 2003 to promote the follow up release “You Are Free.” It was broadcast on 12 February, 2003. Chan performs another sparse stripped down session emphasizing the haunting soulful beauty of her voice.

This is the complete Cat Power Peel sessions made available in flac, together for the first time (April 2020).

Cat Power - Peel Session #1
BBC Radio 1 FM
Maida Vale Studio 4
London, England
Recorded: June 18, 2000

Lineage: FM > ? > CDR > EAC > FLAC

01. Sophisticated Lady (2:20)
02. Hard Times In New York City (2:49)
03. Wonderwall (2:41)
04. He Was A Friend Of Mine (3:54)
05. Deep Inside > Come On In My Kitchen (5:11)
06. Werewolf (3:07)
07. Up & Gone (2:21)
08. Sister > Knocking On Heaven's Door (4:00)
09. Freebird (0:52)


Cat Power - Peel Session #2
BBC Radio 1 FM
"Peel Acres" (John Peel's house)
Great Finborough, Suffolk,
England, U.K.
Recorded: August 23, 2001

Master FM recording
Lineage:  BBC Radio 1 FM  -> Roof Aerial -> Marantz ST151L Tuner -> SB Extigy soundcard -> CoolEdit Pro 2.1 ->
WAV -> CD-R -> EAC -> WAV -> TLH -> FLAC 8 & .ffp

10. Intro  (with Nellie the dog) (1:09)
11. The Party (3:10)
12. Interview  (with John Peel) (0:42)
13. Intro  (with John Peel) (0:28)
14. Baby Doll (3:09)
15. Interlude  (with John Peel) (0:24)
16. Up And Gone (2:40)
17. Come On In My Kitchen (3:52)


Cat Power - Peel Session #3
BBC Radio 1 FM
Maida Vale Studio 4
London, England.
Recorded: January 23, 2003

Lineage: FM > ? > CDR > EAC > FLAC

18. Names (5:18)
19. Funny Things (3:10)
20. Evolution (3:01)
21. I Don't Blame You (3:34)

These are the correct dates as sourced from the book 'The Peel Sessions' by Ken Garner (2007)



  1. BRILLIANT! You - and your blog - are awesome. Huge thank you for this recording and for everything you do. Stay safe and healthy!

  2. Thanks again Sharon. You are very welcome, take care.

  3. Agree with Sharon :) Thank you!