Wednesday, 11 July 2018

RADIOHEAD - Kid A 2000 Live Promos (Flac)

This was my best download last month and is consequently Bootleg of the Month for June 2018

 In an NME article published on 30 September, 2000. James Oldham wrote that "Three years on from the release of 'Ok Computer', 'Kid A' is the sound of a band struggling to surpass a record with a critical and cultural importance that is unmatched in recent memory. Recorded in four studios and three countries over a 12-month period rife with false starts and inter-band friction, the very least you can say about it is that it represents a complete and definite break with the past.

It trades the ambitious, heavily treated guitar sounds of its predecessor for a detailed skeletal electronic framework of meandering ambient clouds and fractured, subsumed vocals. Supported by brittle drum patterns and keening static, the songs drift by with minimal human input, utterly at odds with their live counterparts. If 'OK Computer' vividly articulated Yorke's anxieties, then 'Kid A' shrouds them in sonic fluff. It's almost as if Yorke has chosen to erase himself from the group completely."

In closing and summing up 'Kid A' James Oldham writes "that following  'Ok Computer' was always going to be a near impossible task, and Radiohead have opted for a route which, first and foremost, ensures their survival. 'Kid A' sounds like what it is: a record that's been slowly and painfully edited together. It's a brave, but flawed affair. It attempts to mimic the arrhythic sounds of Autechre and Aphex Twin but ends up mired in compromise.

'Ok Computer' wasn't fantastic because it was radical sonically but because the quality of the songwriting was exceptional 'Kid A' sees them abdicating responsibility, as if Thom was frightened he couldn't reach the same standard again (hence the exclusion of all the actual songs).
Making experimental music is the easy way out. For Radiohead, and in particular Thom, it seems to have bben the only way. Time will judge it. But right now, 'Kid A' has the ring of a lengthy, over-analysed mistake."

The pertinent point made is that "the songs... are utterly at odds with their live counterparts." It is why I and many Radiohead fans prefer these songs when performed in front of a live audience. For those who wish to hear more I can recommend listening to the Warrington 2000 and the Oxford 2001 shows in their entirety.

At the moment North America can see Radiohead live on tour, while we in the UK have President Donald Trump on tour. Who said anything about an unfair exchange?

The original download is included here, along with some slight editing. I've used the first 7 songs and added 3 bonus tracks to make a live version of  'Kid A'. It's been done before, but the London tracks are new to circulation and Dollars & Cents and Morning Bell are available now from pre-FM sources.

The bonus tracks were taken from the 'Secrets to be Told' collection, apart from In Limbo which was sourced from the Warrington pre-FM. Treefingers is the only 'Kid A' song missing.

01. Optimistic (24 September, London)
02. The National Anthem (24 September, London)
03. How To Disappear Completely (24 September, London)
04. Idioteque (24 September, London)
05. Everything In It's Right Place (24 September, London)
06. Dollars And Cents (8 September, Copenhagen)
07. Morning Bell (7 October, Dublin)

      bonus tracks
08. In Limbo (2 October, Warrington)
09. Kid A (8 June 2012, Bonnaroo)
10. Motion Picture Soundtrack (26 August, 1997 New York)

Included in a separate folder are alternate live versions of:
How To Disappear Completely (2000-10-06 Dublin)
The National Anthem (2000-07-01 London)

Thanks go to JWB for getting these promo tracks into circulation.


No comments:

Post a Comment